Home      Discussion      Topics      Dictionary      Almanac
Signup       Login
Odessa Catacombs

Odessa Catacombs

Discussion
Ask a question about 'Odessa Catacombs'
Start a new discussion about 'Odessa Catacombs'
Answer questions from other users
Full Discussion Forum
 
Encyclopedia
[[Image:Nerubayskoe 04.jpg|thumb|200px|]] The '''Odessa Catacombs''' are an estimated 2,500 kilometres of labyrinths stretching out under the city and surrounding region of [[Odessa, Ukraine]]. The majority of the [[catacombs]] are the result of stone [[mining]]. Most of the city's 19th century houses were built of [[limestone]] mined nearby. Abandoned mines were later used and widened by local smugglers. This created a gigantic labyrinth of underground tunnels beneath Odessa, known as the "catacombs". Today they are a great attraction for extreme tourists, who explore the tunnels despite the dangers involved. Such tours are not officially sanctioned because the catacombs have not been fully mapped and the tunnels themselves are unsafe. There have been incidents of people becoming lost in the tunnel network, and dying of dehydration or rockfalls. Only one small portion of the catacombs is open to the public, within the "Museum of Partisan Glory" in Nerubayskoye, north of Odessa. The tunnels are often cited as the reason why a subway system has never been built in Odessa.{{Citation needed|date=April 2010}} ==Composition== [[File:Odessa kat 03.jpg|thumb|200px|Among the catacombs]] Most (95-97 %) of the catacombs are former [[limestone]] mines, from which stone was extracted to construct the city above. The remaining catacombs (3-5%) are either natural cavities, or were excavated for other purposes such as sewerage. ==History== The first underground stone mines started to appear in the 19th century, while vigorous construction took place in [[Odessa]]. They were used as a source of cheap construction materials. Limestone was cut using saws, and mining became so intensive that by the second half of the 19th century, the extensive network of catacombs created many inconveniences to the city.{{Citation needed|date=April 2010}} After the [[Russian Revolution (1917)|Russian Revolution]] of 1917, stone mining was banned within the central part of Odessa (inside the Porto-Franko zone, bounded by Old Port Franko and Panteleymonovskaya streets). During [[World War II]] the catacombs served as a hiding places for Soviet partisans, in particular the squad of [[V.A. Molodtsev]]. In his work ''The Waves of The Black Sea'', [[Valentin Kataev]] described the battle between Soviet partisans against fascist invaders, underneath Odessa and its nearby suburb [[Usatovo]]. In 1961 the "Search" (Poisk) club was created in order to explore the history of partisan movement among the catacombs. Since its creation, it has expanded understanding of the catacombs, and provided information to expand mapping of the tunnels. Since the beginning of the 21st century limestone mining has continued in the mines located in Dofinovka, Byldynka, and "Fomina balka" near Odessa. As the result of continued mining, the catacombs continue to expand. ==External links== {{ru icon}} {{en icon}} {{ru icon}} Photos of the catacombs {{Odessa}} {{coord missing|Ukraine}}